Sharad Pawar seen here cast his vote at a polling stating. Pune has eight municipal corporations in Maharashtra are contesting in polls today. Almost 6,000 candidates will fight for the corporations in Thane, Ulhasnagar, Nashik, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Akola, Amravati and Nagpur. Maharashtra was witness to the fallout between the BJP and the Shiv Sena, however, both the parties are still expected to make gains and improve their overall tally this time.